XVI Corps

Headquarters XVI Corps

  • formed in theatre: 17-Jan-16
  • 17-Jan-16: Lieutenant General G F Milne KCB DSO
  • 17-May-16: Lieutenant General C J Briggs KCB KCMG
  • 05-Nov-16: 2/5/Durham Light Infantry (Garrison) from UK; to 228th Brigade, 01-Mar-17
  • 27-Dec-16: XVI Corps Cavalry Regiment (A & B Squadrons, 1/1st Surrey Yeomanry from 27th & 28th Divisions)

10th (Irish) Division

  • 05 to 24-Oct-15: from Gallipoli
  • 23-Aug-15: Lieutenant General Sir B T Mahon
  • 20-Dec-15: Major General J R Longley
  • to Egypt, starting 01-Sep-17

27th Division

  • 17-Jan to 13-Feb-16, from France
  • 16-Jul-15: Major General G F  Milne KCB DSO
  • 07- Feb-16: Major General W R Marshall
  • 15-Sep-16: Major General H S L Ravenshaw
  • 22-Feb-17: Major General G T Forestier-Walker CB

28th Division

  • from France via Egypt, starting 04-Jan-16
  • 12-Oct-15: Major General C J  Briggs CB
  • 21-May-16: Major General H L Croker CB

Find out more: